Grand Prix Stratégies du Luxe 2018

Brand Book

“My weapon is the perspective from which I see my society.”
Yves Saint Laurent

At the beginning of Yves Saint Laurent Beauty, there was Yves Saint Laurent. “My weapon is the perspective from which I see my society,” said the couturier. Women, society, the right intuition… It’s all there.

Yves Saint Laurent gives body and soul to a style during a creative career that spans forty years. In a state of torment and grace. A staggering duality that haunts him all his life, underpinning his genius and recognition. Only by immersing ourselves in the thousand lives of Yves Saint Laurent can we fully embrace YSL.

Yves Saint Laurent is a multi-faceted man who sparks off contrasts to better interweave them. He counterbalances extravagance with discipline. Luxury with sobriety. Opulent splendour becomes tinged with excellence. “I have led the fight for elegance and beauty.” This masterful art of the paradox, which characterises the designer’s work, has created, shaped and built YSL Beauty since 1978.

Omedia immersed itself in the history of Yves Saint Laurent and his fashion house to tell the story of beauty through the lens of the man and of couture. Black and Colours, Paris and Elsewhere, Art and the Street, Transgression and Elegance… Rather than following a chronological or product-based approach, the agency adopted a radical editorial line to tell the story of an increasingly avant-garde beauty revealed in paradoxes. This approach brings a new angle to Beauty: understanding a product’s genesis, the choice of an icon, or the focus of a campaign. It is also a way of letting people discover or rediscover Saint Laurent’s history, deeply rooted in that of fashion; from the first fragrance in 1964 to the relaunch of Black Opium in 2018.

As part of this fine work, the agency took up the role of publisher, in particular regarding iconographic sourcing and drafting. It collaborated with YSL brand experts by involving for example the Fondation Pierre Bergé – Yves Saint Laurent and the Institut Français de la Mode.

Rewards : Médaille d'Or du Grand Prix Stratégies du Luxe 2018, catégorie édition, for YSL Beauté.

Expertises: art direction, editorial line and copywriting, iconographic sourcing, creation and production of the book.

livre ouvert, photo d'YSL à gauche
plusieurs pages du livre

behind the
scene

Grand Prix Stratégies du Luxe 2018

Livre de marque

  • Accueil / 
  • Créations / 
  • Beauté / 
  • Grand Prix Stratégies du Luxe 2018

« Mon arme est le regard que je porte sur mon époque. »
Yves Saint Laurent

Au commencement d’Yves Saint Laurent Beauté, il y a eu Monsieur Saint Laurent. « Mon arme est le regard que je porte sur mon époque », disait le couturier. La femme, l’époque, l’intuition juste… Tout est là.

En quarante ans de création, Yves Saint Laurent donne corps et âme à un style. Dans le tourment et l’état de grâce. Une dualité renversante qui le poursuit toute sa vie, qui fait son génie et sa reconnaissance. Il faut s’immerger dans les mille et une vies d’Yves Saint Laurent pour s’adonner à YSL.

Yves Saint Laurent est un homme aux multiples facettes qui provoque les contrastes pour mieux les entremêler. À son extravagance, il oppose la rigueur. À son luxe, il compare la sobriété. Au faste, il dicte l’excellence. « J’ai mené le combat de l’élégance et de la beauté. » Cet art maîtrisé des paradoxes, qui caractérise l’œuvre du créateur, crée, façonne, construit YSL Beauté, depuis 1978.

L’agence Omedia s’est plongée dans l’histoire de M.Saint Laurent et celle de sa maison, pour raconter la beauté au travers du prisme de l’homme et de la couture. Le Noir et les Couleurs, Paris et l’Ailleurs, l’Art et la Rue, Transgression et Élégance… Plutôt que d’avoir une approche chronologique ou produit, l’agence a fait le choix d’une ligne éditoriale radicale, pour raconter une beauté toujours plus avant-garde qui se révèle dans les paradoxes. Une approche qui permet de donner une nouvelle lecture de la Beauté : comprendre la genèse d’un produit, le choix d’une égérie, ou le parti-pris d’une campagne. Une manière également de faire découvrir ou redécouvrir son histoire, profondément ancrée dans celle de la mode ; depuis le 1er parfum en 1964, jusqu’au re-lancement de Black Opium en 2018.

Dans le cadre de ce bel ouvrage, l’agence a réalisé un véritable travail d’éditeur, sur le sourcing iconographique et sur les textes notamment ; et a collaboré avec des spécialistes de la marque en sollicitant par exemple la Fondation Pierre Bergé –Yves Saint Laurent et l’Institut Français de la Mode.

Récompense : Médaille d'Or du Grand Prix Stratégies du Luxe 2018, catégorie édition, pour YSL Beauté.

Expertises : direction artistique, ligne éditoriale et rédaction, sourcing iconographique, création et production de l’ouvrage.

livre ouvert, photo d'YSL à gauche
plusieurs pages du livre

behind the
scene